Quantcast generator

Sponsors







Author Topic: generator  (Read 3661 times)

Offline Blake

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma 1
    • View Profile
generator
« on: February 04, 2010, 06:34:04 PM »
how many watts does it take to run a blower?

Offline GoWyo

  • County Champion Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • Karma 44
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 07:56:39 PM »
Seems they pull about 15 to 18 AMPs, so you would need at least 2000 watts and that would probably be stretching it.
May you always have cows around . . . ~ Corb Lund

Stop the violins -- visualize whirled peas

Offline spencer f.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma 1
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 09:29:48 PM »
we have a 3250 watt generator and a sullivans blower bogs it down pretty well so if you need a lot of power it pays to go with a big one so you can at least run two blowers on it but ours will run the blower just fine if we put in a higher quality fuel.

Offline Jason

  • Administrator
  • State Champion Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Karma 144
    • View Profile
    • Steer Planet
Re: generator
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 09:30:50 PM »
go diesel if you have the choice
"Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up." --- Thomas Edison in 1877

Offline blackcows

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • Karma 5
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2010, 05:27:21 AM »
I have a nice little Honda 3000 watt generator that runs one blower with no problems.

Offline bruiser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Karma 5
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2010, 06:37:52 AM »
If you jackpot any at all, remember you're going to run fans. If your area's fairgrounds are like ours, you cantdepend on power at all. I had a 6500 watt and couldn't pull fans and blower w\o gutting the generator. I traded for a 8000 wattand it works fine. Make sure when you buy look for the most options- auto idle , big fuel tank, oil alert, they come in pretty handy.

Offline rtm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma 1
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2010, 08:18:17 AM »
Power & Wheels (portable)

Offline traveling bull

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma 1
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2010, 08:46:50 AM »
GoWyo has the most accurate answer so far. Look at the full load amps required on your blower. Or if you knew someone who had a amp meter then you cold get a true reading. Make sure that the generater has a circuit breaker with a amp rating larger. Some generaters may be higher in watts, but only have a 15 amp circuit breaker. That would only let you run your blower on low. I would say 20 amp would be the smallest circuit breaker you could use. you might be able to go thru the owners manual to see if you could get a heavier breaker for a smaller watt generater, but getting one that already has one would be better.

« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 08:19:42 PM by traveling bull »

Offline EWSC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma 0
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2010, 08:35:57 AM »
we use a 6500 watt that we can run two blowers off of.  if u go to a lot of shows in the summer i would go with a bigger generator our 6500 bogs down with 2 blowers and fans on.

Offline AAOK

  • Forum Moderator
  • National Champion Poster
  • ******
  • Posts: 5264
  • Karma 162
    • View Profile
    • Asklund Acres
Re: generator
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2010, 09:40:09 AM »

I bought a "no name" generator in 1995 for $279.  It is a 4000 watt powered by a gas 10HP Briggs & Stratton.  It has 2 - 120, 20 amp outlets, and 2 - 240 outlets.  We ran 2 Blowers easily along with clippers and lights.  I used it last weekend for the first time in five years.  The Ice Storm had us down for 3 days and I ran 2 freezers, 2 refrigerators, a microwave, sump pump, radio, TV and DVD.  Mine has a 6 gallon tank that will run continuously for about 14 hours.  Oil has to be added every two tanks.

My advice would be to shop around, and take two blowers with you to test the power and amperage before you purchase.

Offline coachmac

  • County Champion Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1006
  • Karma 11
  • Paddle Faster.... I hear Banjo's!!!
    • View Profile
Re: generator
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2010, 11:44:30 PM »

I bought a "no name" generator in 1995 for $279.  It is a 4000 watt powered by a gas 10HP Briggs & Stratton.  It has 2 - 120, 20 amp outlets, and 2 - 240 outlets.  We ran 2 Blowers easily along with clippers and lights.  I used it last weekend for the first time in five years.  The Ice Storm had us down for 3 days and I ran 2 freezers, 2 refrigerators, a microwave, sump pump, radio, TV and DVD.  Mine has a 6 gallon tank that will run continuously for about 14 hours.  Oil has to be added every two tanks.

My advice would be to shop around, and take two blowers with you to test the power and amperage before you purchase.


Dang.... mind pm'in me with the name of the no name generator you found?   

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
1 Replies
2234 Views
Last post November 19, 2010, 02:11:54 PM
by KMPSC
2 Replies
1975 Views
Last post January 19, 2011, 08:39:22 PM
by GoWyo
3 Replies
1818 Views
Last post September 03, 2011, 10:22:43 AM
by Redwine Cattle
2 Replies
1492 Views
Last post February 20, 2012, 05:31:22 AM
by bovine and equine
2 Replies
1376 Views
Last post February 21, 2012, 05:04:00 PM
by Redwine Cattle

Powered by EzPortal