Another implant question...

Help Support Steer Planet:

shufly

Let me start by saying I am new to implants. There are several threads on here about implants and several opinions on when and what to give.  What are people's thoughts about giving a calf a mild or less aggressive implant, like ralgro, now for a boost with the spring shows and then a stronger or more aggressive implant, like Revalor S, about 30 days prior to the terminal show???  Both calves I am thinking about using these on are very structurally sound, deep ribbed, easy feeding kind of steers.

texas111

sounds good.  you might experiment on the two of them, giving them each a diferent dose. ex ralgro both on one and revlar ad ralgro on the other. your choice.  good luck with em

Silver

I wouldn't mess around with a double dose. I would just use the revavlor s earlier. In my experience ralgro is junk.

shufly

Silver said:
I wouldn't mess around with a double dose. I would just use the revavlor s earlier. In my experience ralgro is junk.

From what I have read in other posts, people say to make sure the calves are fat before giving Revalor and give it only within 30-45 days from the terminal show.  Doesn't that imply not to give it to calves that are less than a year???

shufly

If ralgro isn't any good what about Synovex S right now?  These are march born steers.  Then the Revalor S & Optaflexx about 30-45 days prior to the terminal show in Aug????

Silver

synovex is definitely a step up from ralgro, I would be careful not to get too implant happy.

kobo_ranch

while on this subject... what exactly do the implants do to a already fat steer... and do you do more than one implant?

Silver