Be Afraid!

Help Support Steer Planet:

Throttle

I read this on Kevin Mears' blog and it really makes you think. The hog business is clear in the tank, with the H1N1 thing being just another nail in a coffin that was already pretty well built. Are we building ours?

If I were a purebred breeder 
Industry News - Friday 7th of August 2009 12:18:19 PM

FROM DROVERS.COM

If I were a purebred breeder
By Max Thornsberry  |  Monday, June 15, 2009

Purebred-cattle breeders should be concerned with their industry’s direction. Southern Missouri supported many swine producers when I graduated from the University of Missouri in 1977. Unbeknownst to me, the swine industry would soon be destroyed by vertical integration. One purebred-Duroc breeder said, “Doc, don’t worry, those corporate guys won’t come out here in the middle of the night to farrow a sow, and they don’t want to straw-bed, castrate or vaccinate hogs. There will always be a place for us purebred breeders, and you will always have a job servicing this segment of the hog industry.”

He was wrong. By 1985 he exited the purebred Duroc business, I exited the swine veterinary business, my swine clients ceased business, and the once numerous feeder-pig auctions were gone from my part of the state.

What destroyed our swine industry in eight years? Simple. The government allowed corporations to capture the hog industry. Executives did not want to castrate, vaccinate or farrow sows, but they found willing sharecroppers to do their labor.

Some producers contracted with these corporations; built state-of-the-art confinement facilities; accepted the corporations’ pigs, feed, medicine and vaccines; and fed the pigs — not for themselves but for the corporation.