Chili cook-off

Help Support Steer Planet:

red

Since in most places it's getting cooler. This time of year always makes me think of soups & chili.

I'm a cook that usually follows no recipe so my stuff tastes a little different each time. I'm sure we have some chili experts here that would love to share their talents!

Red

TMJ Show Cattle

John OKLA won a chile cook off in Oklahoma not to long ago!  My experience is...its GREAT !! (thumbsup)

inthebarnagain

For a different slant on chili try the recipe on the side of Bush's Great Northern Beans for white chili.  Put some Monterey Jack cheese on it, YUM!

Davis Shorthorns

my secrete ingredient is DEER MEAT.  I never use beef.  I have also made chili with duck, goose, wild turkey, rabbit, and other random wild game.  For those that have family members that don't like the taste of wild game it is a great way to sneak some in and if it is ground they will never know.  Plus all of it is low in fat.  I usually have to add some sort of fat when I am cooking my deer burger.  Plus it has to be thick.  My dad would make chili that was more like soup so that he could stretch it and then put two handfulls of crackers in it to make it thick.  I am still scarred to this day. 

red

Carrie- would John share it or is it a secret he'll take to the grave?  ;)

Red

kanshow

TMJ - Congratulations on the cook off win!!

The kids were asking for chili so got some in the crock pot now.  Should be ready for supper.

red

who uses hamburger or a roast for theirs?
The deer meat doesn't sound the greatest to me but then I've never been a big fan.

Red

TMJ Show Cattle

2 lbs gound chuck
1  lb  Sweet Italian Sausage
1 lb Venison
1 lb ground Andouille sausage (cajun smoked sausage)
3 TB Hungarian Paprika
3 TB Mexican Chile powder
2 TB Cumin
1 large onion minced
1 1/2 TB Kosher salt
1 tsp cayenne pepper
2 28 oz cans of GOOD Italian tomato sauce