judging cattle(simmental)

Help Support Steer Planet:

bfn5005

i understand their is alot of information out there and noone can explain everything in great detail here... but... i was wondering what everyone mainly looks at when purchasing or judging a show heifer(simmental). i have been showing cattle for a couple years now and my cattle do alright in there classes. they are around the middle of the pack but i just cant seem to get one that is outstanding and does real well. anyone have any suggestions of what to look for? thanks.

The Show

Structural correctness is a must, pretty fronted, spring of rib, deep in the flank, big boned, tail head set(a lot of Simmi's have bad tail heads), a little muscle, and hair. The calves that win classes at majors have all of these characteristics. Structure has become more of an issue than it once was. I saw calves at FW last week that were awesome on the rail but when they got on the move they weren't very sound and they got buried. Usually a really sound calf will be a calf that is a little thicker & soggier.

bfn5005

thank you all. Now besides structure, how much of this stuff do you think you can obtain through strong feeding and hair maintenance?

the angus111

bfn5005 said:
thank you all. Now besides structure, how much of this stuff do you think you can obtain through strong feeding and hair maintenance?
i think feeding is the most important, but genetics play the biggest role.and hair,well i guess its important.i still wish there was no emphasis put on it,but there is.rusty

The Show

bfn5005 said: