Naming Breeding Cattle

Help Support Steer Planet:

everybreedcounts

My family has recently started a herd of registered herefords, and i wanted to know how people come up with the names for registration papers. like some have a name like "CHR Spirit" and they either add numbers or different variations of that name for the animals offspring. Im new to this so i just need some pointers

DiamondMCattle

The CHR would be the prefix so the breeder of the animal is recognized. Then after that its pretty much your own preference. Many people reuse names and add numbers so the lines of cattle are easily recognized. Also there are so many registered in the Hereford breed it would be hard to think of an original name every time.

sue

The way we name is not a 3 or 4 letter prefix but the full farm name, kinda old school but  I like it . Leveldale, Lakeside, Waukauru, Hahn,Diamond, Muridale, Matlock, Saskvalley are the only full farm name prefixes I can think of in the shorthorn deal?  No confusion just slap the name ahead of it.

Females at Lakeside carry the cow family name . period. If she's a dolly then her daughter is a dolly 011 and so on . Again "old school".  If dolly has a bull calf then his name begins with the letter "d", again old school but its what works.

leanbeef