Neck Sweats

Help Support Steer Planet:

Superblocker

I've never used neck sweats before but I have a pretty nice September heifer that is starting to get sloppy in her front. Our next show is in mid July. Is there a daily routine that needs to be implemented? How much time per day does it need to be on the heifer to be effective? Anyone with advise? Thanks

minimoo38

the general rule of thumb is 12 hours on and 12 hours off. we used on last year on Kahlua, my heifer/avatar pix, as she needed one just to clean her up a bit. start now to get ahead of the problem. genetics plays a big role with the tightness of the neck, but sweats can help a lot.

get the purple neck sweat from Sullivan's, and make sure that it fits her well, so it isn't too big and floppy. you'll need the large.

The Sullivan's Maximizer sweat is the new purple sweat that yields tremendous results. Extra thick 5/16” neoprene with fabric on one side. Designed to be left on the animal 6 to 12 hours per day. Must be removed periodically during the day to allow the hair coat to breathe. See dramatic results in just 3-5 days with the Maximizer Sweat. Made of a strong durable material. Completely machine washable. Removable velcro straps allow you to move and position as desired. Custom fit by trimming as desired. Large (fits animals 750-1500 lbs.) $48.50

when it says "Must be removed periodically during the day to allow the hair coat to breathe.", it depends. we had it on Kahlua during the night, because we worked hair every 2 hours during the day. the sweat just kept getting in the way, and i constantly had to take it off to brush her neck. besides, when she was in the cooler, it was 45 degrees in there, so the sweat was keeping her warm, not hot. that's why we changed it to putting it on her at night. that way, it could work while she was sleeping.