Our heifer what do you think

Help Support Steer Planet:

paj315

This is my sons March 2012 heifer. We are pretty happy with how she is coming along. What do you guys think of her? She is out of a Durango son and is 2 months bred to Crackerjack.

Attachments

• preview show.jpg
    preview show.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 253

shortyjock89

She doesn't look too bad. What preview show was that at? We showed in Pipestone MN this weekend. Do you think the resulting calf from crackerjack will be good enough behind the shoulders and clean enough chested? 

How is she coming along in her flank? This is my first year really feeding a lot of big Hereford heifers and it's a fine line to get one big enough bodied without getting too chesty.

paj315

This was at the Indiana preview show . Well we will find out about crackerjack in January , we have bred a lot to him and from people we have talked to he should work for us. You're right about feeding them though. Her flank is looking really good and she is soggy . Her biggest flaw is her front end as a show heifer but we feel like she is going to make a terrific cow . Right now we are feeding mostly beet pulp and a holding ration to keep her looking full without putting on too much belly. In the heifer world beet pulp is your beat friend .

shortyjock89

I know that beet pulp can work for a short time, but all the Shorthorn and Angus heifers I've ever fed it for long can get stale.

RyanChandler

Her front third is the best part of her.  Base width and overall capacity would be my concerns.  This heifer needs as much belly as anything.  Perhaps she looks way different than the picture suggests. Idk.

paj315