PHA and TH bulls

Help Support Steer Planet:

Finley Club Calves

What is the risk of breeding to PHA and TH positive bulls? ??? I am new to the whole breeding club calves thing. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

OKshorthorn

Breeding 2 carriers together goes like this. 25% chance calf will be free of defects. 50% chance the calf will be a carrier of defects. And a 25% chance the calf will be dead.

If you breed a carrier bull with a clean cow, then it is just 50/50 as to whether or not the calf will be a carrier of defects, but will not result in a defective (dead) calf.

OKshorthorn

DL on here would be the best at telling you the exact defects associated with TH and PHA. You can also use the "search" tab and find other threads about it that go into depth about it.

Basically with PHA, to my knowledge, if they are not in the 25% defective (dead) from breeding 2 carriers there are no side effects. It is just a defective gene that they are carriers of, they don't show signs of being a carrier and you do not know they are unless tested.

They same goes for TH, with the exception that some believe that TH carriers have superior bone and hair compared to non-carriers.  

Here are a couple links to old threads on this subject.
http://www.steerplanet.com/bb/index.php?topic=28689.0
http://www.steerplanet.com/bb/index.php?topic=39638.0
http://www.steerplanet.com/bb/index.php?topic=22124.0

J

JTM

You never want to breed a carrier to another carrier. I know the science says that the chances are 25% defective calf, but I would submit that the actuals in reality are much higher. The smart thing to do would be to build a herd with non carrier cows and then if you are dead set on using a carrier bull you can breed them with no risk. The bad part about that is that some people won't buy carrier females. Just depends on your market. Good luck to you!

knabe

why would pha be more special than any other defect with respect to ratios?