Semen

Help Support Steer Planet:

Ric

So I was wondering I am kinda new to the whole buying semen side of things do different semen companies sell the same bulls? If they do you go merely by price who you choose to buy from? Or do you go more by the people you know from a certain company that go out on the road and travel to sell the semen?

OH Breeder

This is totally my opinion first and foremost.

I believe ABS has high quality standards and like to buy from them when I can.. Then I go by price and shipping and handling fees. Cattlevisions from customer service have been super good, as well as Top Sires and Lautner. Launter called me back when semen was available and shipped pretty quick failrly reasonable.
If you do'nt have a preference, then my suggestion to you would be make alist of must have bulls and then start shopping the semen sites. Some only carry certain bulls.

Ric

Is there anyone that anybody recommends that does a lot of traveling and semen deliveries and they thought was helpful

jbw

I have had great luck with Lance Ellsworth, Stepping Stone, Brad Hook, Matt Lautner, and some ABS reps, They are salesmen, they are trying hard to earn your business. I have also dealt with Kirk Roecker, even though he is not really a distributor, he will go the extra mile to help you out.

I don't know about every one else, but when I buy semen from the peddlers, I feel that it rude that they don't come around in the fall sale season to have a courtesy call. I don't expect them to stop at sale season if I only get a rack or two, But, I generally buy up to 300 units a year and have sure found out who I will support in the future. I don't expect any bids, just a cortesy call.
I'm ranting tonight , I apoligize, I'll get off here now ;D ;D ;D

Jill