If you were gonna start over?

Help Support Steer Planet:

Williams

And plan on raising a few club calves maybe 20 or so females what breed would you start with?Im thinking maybe shorthorn and cross them up,but Im a newbie...
Awsome site!Alot of info for a pig guy starting with cattle in the future... ;)

Cattledog

That is a good question.  I would probably start with an angus base and then use some three way crosses on them.  I also wouldn't mind having half blood simmi-angus females.

olsun

You wouldn't be wrong if you started with shorthorns. However, at least in this area you would be better off to start with angus cows. Since there are few commercial shorthorn herds around here, you could get better cows for less money with angus. Then if you still want the shorties, it works very well to use a good shorthorn bull on angus cows. All breeds seem to work on an angus cow. JMO

justme

I appreciate a good shorthorn as much as the next but one thing to think about what are you going to do with the ones that aren't going to make show cattle (it'll happen)?  I had some and the ones that didn't make show cattle went to the sale barn.  Everytime I take one I get nailed.  Its a shame that happens but in many places it does.

I prefer maines myself.  So many ways you can cross them and so many avenues you can go.  Another route is the simmi x angus route or simmi x maine route.  The simmi cross cattle make great mamas.

red

give me my Maines anyday. Even those that have a little Shorthorn in them.  ;)

Red

Show Steaks

Right now anything with a white face or 734 or maximus  in its pedigree is  HOT!
Make Great mamma and sire a white faced look that every showmen  loves to see on the calf they are buying.

oakbar

If I was starting over I think I'd raise cats and everyone on SP knows how I feel about cats.   At least that way everyone would know I'm crazy instead of just wondering.