Selecting Maternal Sires

Help Support Steer Planet:

Stihlpro

I have been using clubby bulls for the past 5 years and have been happy with the steers.  The heifers seemed to be shunned at the livestock market.  I have been feeding them out and selling locker beef the past few years.  My only problem is that I get 75% heifers (I know it's just bad luck on my part).  I am getting to the point where I need top put some replacement heifers back into the herd and would like to add more maternal genetics.  I need some advice in picking some bulls that sire really good Mamas.  I watched the Guyer Sale on RFDTV and definitely realized that I was also lacking length in my cows.  I have some ideas but would love to hear other suggestions. 

OH Breeder

Northern Improvement really made our calves long bodied. I used him on a Mossy Oak x Angus heifer a few years back and he did the trick. I used him again this year on heifer and will know in a month how that worked.

MYT Farms

Kellys have some really nice Nutt-n-Butt daughters. And apparently from the breed thread going, you need to get some simmi in your herd.  ;D

CAB

Stihlpro said:
I have been using clubby bulls for the past 5 years and have been happy with the steers.  The heifers seemed to be shunned at the livestock market.  I have been feeding them out and selling locker beef the past few years.  My only problem is that I get 75% heifers (I know it's just bad luck on my part).  I am getting to the point where I need top put some replacement heifers back into the herd and would like to add more maternal genetics.  I need some advice in picking some bulls that sire really good Mamas.  I watched the Guyer Sale on RFDTV and definitely realized that I was also lacking length in my cows.  I have some ideas but would love to hear other suggestions.