politics

Help Support Steer Planet:

ShortyJ13

i don't know,
i mean this post may be completely pointless
and i know that this is with ANYTHING that you do... but i guess misery loves it's company.

is it just me or are the politics of livestock showing driving us all crazy? I'm in this because of what i get out of it, and what i can give to others. for instance, I'm a freshman in high school, and Ive been showing for about 8 years now. (not necessarily cattle, but period). and sometimes I'm asked to teach show clinics at my local 4-h clubs. the looks on these kids faces when they learn something new... when I'm at a show and a little kid is running up to me screaming "good luck!" or jumping for joy when they win... and their looking up to me. that's what I'm in this for. when i take a calf from a local breeder and turn it into a show calf, because it was their dream to have an animal from their heard be a winner.. that's what I'm in this for. i love to take my talents Ive accumulated of my years of showing to simply make people happy, and get younger kids involved in something that changed my life, and that i know could do that same for them.

I'm so sick of going to shows and seeing people cheating, and people fighting. even hearing the feuds within my own showteams. it makes me want to ask "is this all you in this for?, ... to win?" i mean is that really the most important thing?

sorry for whining, i just had to vent
I'm sure all of you know all to well what I'm talking about in some form or fashion.

dutch pride

A livestock show is a competition and as such there are always winners and not winners. There are two reasons IMO that one enters a competition, either to win of for the "love of the game". I would say most people who enter have some combination of both of these reasons with varying degrees of each. My experience is that some adults lean more towards winning side of things which can spoil the "love of the game" for a lot of others, kids included.