c-section effect flushing?

Help Support Steer Planet:

vet tech

Did a c-section on a smokie cow I wanted to flush, will this affect her flushing results? Thanks

redwingfarm

Was the C section due to birth weight issues?  if so then why would you want to flush a cow with known birthweight problems?  furthermore what if you want to sell the resulting embryos, will you let all potential buyers know about the past issues?  the cow is yours and this is just my opinion and concerns  good luck

vet tech

The calf was twisted inside the cow and we could not pull him in that position, we were forced to perform the c-section. The calf wasn't huge. And I sure would tell any buyers of the c-section. Although, if they are buying quality eggs, the c-section would make no difference

WHLR SIMMENTALS

That would be may question to, was it the cows fault or the bulls fault with birthweight? I am also a vet tech I work with a vet who does alot of flushing and AI alot of cattle. If it was a birthweight due to bull I would say you would be alright to go ahead the only other concern would be maybe scar tissue that may pose a problem. You have a 50/50 shot either you bred her again and see if its something she can due on her own or try to flush her. First off you need to figure out if its the bulls problem or the cows!! just my opinion

WHLR SIMMENTALS

sorry are replys went at the same time! I would say go for it the scar tissue mit pose a problem but if she a good cow and has the full meal deal go for it!!

DTW

I have a cow that had a c section.  That year we bred her right back after she had the c section.  Then the following year we flushed her. 
My biggest concern on a cow with a c section is getting them bred back that first year. 

And birthweight is not an issue in the show steer business.  That is why alot of people flush certain cows so they dont ruin that great cow and deal with the c sections and calving issues on commercial cows.